Now the Work Begins

This week has been an extremely busy one, so apologies for the lack of posts (if anyone was worried). I attended training every day from Monday until Thursday at my new English centre, Apax. I passed my interviews and simulation classes, and on Friday I signed my contract – securing myself a job for the next 12 months. I am thrilled to be working with Apax, and cannot wait to begin actually teaching – which starts tomorrow morning. The centre is open every day of the week except for Mondays. I get to work with children ranging from the ages of 4 to 14 in a friendly, warm environment. The teachers who work at Apax come from all over the place – some being Irish, some American, and many South African which is cool. The only downfall about working at Apax is that they don’t allow for tattoos to be visible, which means I have to wear long shirts every day, come rain or shine. I am not looking forward to the summer. But ’tis a small price to pay for having job stoppers.

Other than training, I spent the rest of my time either at the gym trying out new classes or watching series with Andoni and Jess. We’ve all really gotten back into season one of Gossip Girl so that’s what we spend our weeknights doing. I’ve tried various yoga classes from back bending sessions (ouch) to hip opening ones. Jess and I also went to a spinning class on Friday evening which turned out to be really fun.

Andoni’s birthday is next Wednesday, but because we are moving into our new apartment next weekend we decided to celebrate today instead. Jess and I woke Andoni up bright and early to take him shopping for some new clothes. We then went to The Republic for lunch in Tay Ho. It’s a burger restaurant overlooking Westlake. The chef at The Republic is also from South Africa, and you could tell by the way he made his burgers. They were so flavourful and the meat was incredibly succulent. Jess and Andoni then went to the Intercontinental Hotel for a night of spoils and romance, which means that I get the apartment all to myself.

Other than that, I don’t have much else to share. I’m preparing for my first day of work tomorrow, which is from 8:00 until 5:15.

Also, how does one get children to like them? Asking for a friend.

Leave a Reply

